The news is by your side.

India vs Australia: Team India name 12-member squad for 1st Test

New Delhi : As has been the norm in recent times, the Indian team named its 12-member squad for the opening Test of the four-Test series against Australia, starting at the Adelaide Oval from Thursday. In what is expected to be a tough contest between two quality teams, drawing first blood will be crucial and also on offer is history for Virat Kohli and his men. They are yet to win a series Down Under and with the hosts missing the services of banned duo Steve Smith and David Warner, this could be India’s best chance.

ODI deputy Rohit Sharma has been included in the 12-member team while Ravindra Jadeja and Umesh Yadav are the notable absentees. With both Rohit and Hanuma Vihari making the 12, it is clear that the Indians wish to go into the game relying on a heavy batting line-up. Kuldeep Yadav too has missed out as R Ashwin is the only spinner in the team.

The squad reads: Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), KL Rahul, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (WK), R Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah.